Association Coupe du Monde Paracyclisme
Yverdon-les-Bains 2015


Service des Sports
CP 355
1401 Yverdon-les-Bains


Laetitia Jobin
Coordination générale


+41 79 843 11 16
+41 24 423 60 89


Words of welcome

Ladies, gentlemen, dear sports friends,

In the name of the 2015 Paracycling World Cup organizing committee and of the Yverdon-les-Bains authorities, I would like to warmly welcome you to the website of the event.

You will find here all the information you need to prepare for this important competition that we are committed to organizing in the best way possible.

We are looking forward to seeing you in June 2015 and will be happy to observe your racing exploits!

Jean-Daniel Carrard
President of the organizing committee
Mayor of Yverdon-les-Bains

Our patroness

We are pleased to announce that hand bike specialist Silke Pan will be the patroness of the World Cup round taking place in Yverdon-les-Bains. Sportswoman emeritus and graduate of the National Circus School of Berlin, Silke Pan was pursuing a successful career as an acrobat when a serious accident deprived her of the use of her legs in 2007. With strong will and commitment, Silke Pan rebuilt her career plans and started hand biking (bicycling by hand) in 2012. In barely two years, her passion for sports and her strength of character enabled her to establish herself as a reference athlete in her discipline, collecting victories and medals. Of course, Silke Pan will be at the start of the World Cup events in 2015 at Yverdon-les-Bains.

For further information :


Yverdon-les-Bains is centrally situated along the main motorways, at a distance of 28 km from Lausanne, 74 km from Geneva, 200 km from Zurich and 544 km from Paris.

There are excellent train connections for the Geneva and Zurich airports. The special panoramic train Travys operates on the Sainte-Croix/Les Rasses line (Jura). There is also a landing stage for the boats of the navigation company LNM (Lakes of Neuchâtel and Morat). The airport, with an asphalted tarmac, is 5 minutes away from the A1 motorway.

In the heart of the Yverdon-les-Bains region

The easily accessible region of Yverdon-les-Bains stretches from the foot of the Jura Mountains to the borders of the southern end of Lake Neuchâtel. Covering plain, town, lake and mountain areas, it is a preserved green lung within the Canton of Vaud.

With its rich history, the Yverdon-les-Bains region pleases lovers of calm and of nature. The vast array of excursions, museums, cultural and leisure activities on offer attract many tourists. Nature, history and culture, well-being and regional produce are the region’s principal attractions that tempt visitors.

Tourist activities

The Yverdon-les-Bains region contains 22 major tourist sites and museums that welcome up to 360,000 visitors a year. The accommodation on offer is important, with 31 one-star to four-star hotels and a great number of traditional and welcoming guest rooms.

The beaches situated at the southern end of Lake Neuchâtel are renowned for their natural, almost Mediterranean character, and many creeks are open to the public between Concise, Grandson, Yverdon-les-Bains and Yvonand. The nature reserve of Grande Cariçaie as well as the nearby Jura mountain range offer numerous possibilities for hiking and cycling tours. In addition to all these activities, many museums welcome visitors in the area; for example to return to former times or advance into the future at the Maison d’Ailleurs museum. Unique in Europe, this museum features science-fiction exhibits, contemplates utopia, and takes the visitor on extraordinary journeys. Caves, medieval towns, and Neolithic sites as well as regional produce complete the offer of this extremely natural and attractive region.


Shops and handicraft stores are concentrated in the historic part of town, on Pestalozzi Square at the foot of the castle. Paved roads and pedestrian streets offer an exceptional ambiance for a pleasant shopping stroll or while lingering on a sunny terrace.

Hotels and shops mainly use Swiss francs but some accept euros. Credit cards are accepted in most shops and restaurants.

Contact

Association Coupe du Monde Paracyclisme
Yverdon-les-Bains 2015

 

Service des Sports
CP 355
1401 Yverdon-les-Bains

 

Laetitia Jobin
Coordination générale

M
F
E

+41 79 843 11 16
+41 24 423 60 89
ljo[at]ylb.ch

Yverdon-les-Bains

Mot de bienvenue

Mesdames, Messieurs, chers amis sportifs,

Au nom du Comité d’organisation de la Coupe du Monde de Paracyclisme 2015 et des autorités d’Yverdon-les-Bains, je vous souhaite une cordiale bienvenue sur le site Internet de la manifestation.

Vous trouverez ici toutes les informations nécessaires pour préparer cette importante compétition, que nous avons à cœur d’organiser de la meilleure des manières.

Nous vous donnons rendez-vous en juin 2015 et nous réjouissons déjà de vous accueillir pour vivre au rythme de vos exploits !

Jean-Daniel Carrard
Président du Comité d’organisation
Syndic Yverdon-les-Bains

Notre marraine

Nous avons le plaisir de vous annoncer que Silke Pan, spécialiste de handbike, est la marraine de la manche de Coupe du Monde d’Yverdon-les-Bains. Sportive émérite, diplômée de l’Ecole nationale de cirque de Berlin, Silke Pan suit une carrière d’acrobate lorsqu’un grave accident de trapèze la prive de l’usage de ses jambes en 2007. Avec volonté et abnégation, Silke Pan reconstruit un projet professionnel puis, en 2012, se lance dans le handbike (vélo à mains). En deux ans à peine, sa passion pour le sport et sa force de caractère lui permettent de s’imposer comme une athlète de référence dans sa discipline et de truster victoires et médailles. Silke Pan sera bien entendu au départ des épreuves de Coupe du monde à Yverdon-les-Bains en 2015.

Pour plus d’informations : www.silkepan.ch

Situation

A 3 heures et demi de Paris par TGV, Yverdon-les-Bains jouit d’une situation centrale sur les grands axes autoroutiers à 28km de Lausanne, 74 km de Genève, 200 km de Zürich et 544 km de Paris.

D’excellentes connections par train pour les aéroports de Genève et Zürich, un train panoramique pour Sainte-Croix/Les Rasses, un accès en bateau par la Lac de Neuchâtel ainsi qu’un aérodrome permettent d’atteindre la ville et la région touristique de façon rapide et pratique.

Au cœur de la Région d’Yverdon-les-Bains

Facile d’accès, la région d’Yverdon-les-Bains s’étend au pied du Jura et entoure le sud du lac de Neuchâtel. Tantôt plaine, ville, lac ou montagne, elle représente un poumon vert et préservé au sein du canton de Vaud.

Dotée d’une riche histoire, la région d’Yverdon-les-Bains plaît aux amateurs de calme et de nature. Elle attire les touristes par son offre étendue d’excursions, de musées, d’activités culturelles et de loisirs. C’est autour des thèmes Nature, Histoire et Culture, Bien-être et Terroirs qu’elle se décline et qu’elle séduit ses visiteurs.

Activités touristiques

Yverdon-les-Bains Région recense 22 sites touristiques et musées d’importance, qui accueillent entre 3’000 et 360’000 visiteurs par an. L’offre hôtelière est importante, avec 31 établissements de 1* à 4****sup., ainsi que de nombreuses chambres d’hôtes typiques et accueillantes.

Les plages situées au sud du Lac de Neuchâtel sont réputées pour leur caractère naturel et presque méditerranéen, de nombreuses criques sont ouvertes au public entre Concise, Grandson, Yverdon-les-Bains et Yvonand. La réserve naturelle de la Grande Cariçaie ainsi que le Jura environnant proposent de multiples randonnées à pied ou à vélo. A toutes ces activités viennent s’ajouter les nombreux musées de la région, qui proposent un retour dans le passé, ou une avancée dans le futur grâce au Musée de la Maison d’Ailleurs. Unique en Europe il évoque la science-fiction, l’utopie et les voyages extraordinaires. Grottes, sites médiévaux et néolithiques et produits du terroir complètent l’offre d’une région résolument naturelle et attractive.

Yverdon-les-Bains

Les principaux commerces et échoppes se concentrent dans le bourg historique de la ville, sur la Place Pestalozzi au pied du Château. Ses rues pavées et piétonnières offrent un cadre unique pour flâner sur une terrasse ensoleillée et s’adonner au plaisir du shopping.

Hôtels et commerces travaillent principalement en francs suisses, mais certains acceptent l’Euro. Les cartes de crédit sont utilisables dans la plupart des magasins et restaurants.